Feast of St. Thomas Aquinas

28 01 2010

Now here`s a saint that would probably appreciate the new iPad :D  At any rate I appreciate Thomas for his Eucharistic hymns in particular and am posting  a version of Pange Lingua that I like.  I don’t recall when I first heard of  his hymns but unfortunately it wasnt at church as a child thats for sure.  With that in mind I think its safe for me to say that most people around my age havent heard them either.  I don’t know how many Japanese people know these songs as well because as far as I know they aren’t sung at any Mass I’ve been to.  Ok I will stop typing now so you can listen.

Here are the lyrics.

Speaking of doctors of the church, with the Dominicans and Carmelites tied at three apiece, my Teresa of Avila miniseries arrived in the mail this past Monday when the estimated delivery date was February 10th so that was a really nice surprise and I have watched parts of it every night since.


Actions

Information

2 responses

28 01 2010
DBP

I was familiar with this hymn and also an enthusiastic student of St. Thomas long before I ever realized that Thomas wrote it. He was a man of many talents. I have a book of his prayers in Latin and English, which I haven’t looked at in much too long. Maybe I’ll try to find it today, for the occasion!

29 01 2010
kumikogirl

I love St. Thomas Aquinas he is the Patron Saint of my Alma mater (University of Santo Tomas, Manila). I know this hymn, it is usually sang during the benediction of the Blessed Sacrament or during the procession of the Blessed Sacrament to the altar of repose.

Leave a Reply

