Books

25 01 2010

Well I met with my spiritual director again and got two books.  One is a collections of letters and essays about St Teresa Benedicta (Edith Stein) for lighter reading and the other book could be considered more controversial.  The book is Questions of Life by Nicky Gumbel and is part of something called the Alpha course.  I checked online as to the background etc and found that its value for Catholics is debated.  I am not taking the Alpha course though and am reading it in a certain context and under the guidance of a priest as well as keeping my critical reading hat on at all times.  I am a bit surprised he didn’t give me a Catholic book by saint so and so (patron saint of stuff & things) but I will give this a try and see what happens.


Actions

Information

2 responses

25 01 2010
Anthony OPL

I have unquestionably orthodox friends with positive opinions about the Alpha course for Catholic catechesis. Of course, I say this without any personal exposure to it. Your SD sounds very different from mine (Dominican), whose approach to my formation is “go read some good books”.

26 01 2010
vee8

lol I must say I like his approach! Im guessing the library up in heaven is run by Dominicans, which is fine with me, as I hope to spend a lot of time in that particular section.

Leave a Reply

