Now That We`re All Dead From Swine Flu…

20 01 2010

Im joking of course as these days everyone says swine what.  No one notices or cares about swine flu anymore, so when are they going to put the holy water back in churches?!?!  I recently learned of  something St Teresa of Avila wrote and it makes me wonder how this all fits together.  Here is what she said: “From long experience I have learned that there is nothing like holy water to put devils to flight and prevent them from coming back again.

They also flee from the cross, but return; so holy water must have great value. For my own part, whenever I take it, my soul feels a particular and most notable consolation.”

Bold mine.  Interesting to say the least and I think it is safe to say that if holy water puts devils to flight then what happens without it?  What is happening to people and churches spiritually who don’t have it?  I don’t have the exact quote but Teresa also said something like the devil enters through small cracks.  I think this absence of holy water since May of 2009 might be a crack or could become one and it must be fixed as soon as possible.


Actions

Information

2 responses

20 01 2010
Jasmine Tea

There is holy water at my church in West Japan, but there is also the omnipresent hand sanitizer on the other side of the entryway, and as far as I know we are all still supposed to receive Holy Communion in the hand. That was the hardest thing for me to do because I had never had to do so in my life before this swine flu hysteria.

20 01 2010
Anthony OPL

You don’t have to receive in the hand. Nobody in the world has the authority to deny you communion in the mouth but allow it in the hand – if you can receive at all, you can receive in the mouth.

Granted, I have had to be gently insistent with a priest or two. I’m hoping things are easier in Nagasaki and Sapporo, as I am going there in a fortnight.

Leave a Reply

