Feast of St Therese of Lisieux

1 10 2009

In January of 2008 I found a prayer card with a novena to St Therese on it while cleaning up some stuff one day.  I thought it would be fun to pray because I had heard that sometimes people receive roses and I wanted to see if that would happen to me too, so I prayed the novena.  I got roses and on my birthday no less :D  It was also the first time I had ever said a novena.  I also seemed to have gained the interest of St Therese who keeps trying to make herself known to me for almost the past two years now.  I keep encountering her in quotes from her mostly but also by seeing her picture and statue.  Later in 2008 I started to read a free copy of her book Story of a Soul on Project Gutenberg which you can read here but gave up since it`s not very easy to read that much at the computer.  A couple of months later while visiting my family I found a copy on my Mom`s bookshelf and so read the entire book very comfortably.

Her relics have toured the world but have never been to Japan and currently they are in England for a month.  If they ever do come here, and Im still here, I will definitely go say hi.  I also found out that another favorite Catholic of mine, and likely future saint, Archbishop Fulton Sheen`s talks about her have been compiled into a book see here

I found this video which shows the public areas of her convent as well as some of her personal items.


Actions

Information

5 responses

22 07 2009
elizabeth

I’m interested in the image of Saint Therese that you have displayed here. Would you please let me know where the card was printed or where you got it?

Thank you so much.

I hope your journey in faith is continuing.

1 10 2009
vee8

The image above I just came across on a google image search. The prayer card was in a box of things at my parents house and it contains two prayers. The one I said for nine days was as follows.
O Little Therese of the Child Jesus, please pick for me a rose from the heavenly gardens and send it to me as a message of love.

O Little Flower of Jesus, ask God today to grant the favors I now place with confidence in your hands… (mention specific requests)

St Therese, help me to always believe as you did, in God`s great love for me, so that I might imitate your “Little Way” each day. Amen.

1 10 2009
OneofThem

She’s my favorite saint.😀

I recently bought a beautiful statue of her at a religious supply store in Saint Paul, Minnesota; that statue, along with a first-class relic of hers that a brother seminarian of mine has, were put on display in front of the ambo during Mass this morning at the seminary. Many of the seminarians here have a devotion to her, so today’s almost like a solemnity to us.😛

2 10 2009
noradlf

S. Therese is one of my favourite saints and I thank you for sharing the prayer. I would like to imitate her Little way.
I didn’t know about the roses. It is suited, because she loved flowers so much.
Bye,
Umberta

4 10 2009
vee8

Sounds like a fantastic seminary! Not to mention a first class relic so lucky. Im hoping one day her relics that have toured the globe will come here or that they will be someplace that I can go to to see them.

Leave a Reply

