Homeless

4 06 2009

P1000162

I took this photo on my cellphone while walking through JR Shimbashi station in Tokyo last week.  This is far from the first time I`ve seen homeless here but it is the first time I decided to try and take a picture.  There were four men, three sitting along the wall just like this guy and one old man who was laying in the middle of a very busy staircase!  I was going to take a photo of him but when I walked back he was sitting against the wall at the edge of the stairs so I guess someone asked him to move.

One thing that is very different from homeless here compared to any other country I can think of is they don’t bother anyone here.  They don’t ask for money, they don’t do anything to passersby.  In fact many homeless try to do what work they can such as collecting cans and papers for recycling and the small amount of money they can get from that.

There is so much I could write on this subject, and plenty that others have already written but if you would actually like to do something to help the homeless there are ways to do that too.  The first and easiest way is to pray for them that they may get what they need physically and spiritually.  Secondly donate your time and/or groceries to one of the groups that hand out food for example. This weekend on  Saturday and Sunday June 6th & 7th St Ignatius parish is accepting grocery donations for making onigiri but also accepts volunteers to prepare the onigiri and hand it out as well.  If you`re interested click on June 6th on the calendar here for more info.

Second Harvest Japan is Japan`s first food bank and works to help a wide range of people.

Here is a short ad from them.  I had heard on a tv show that while Japan has half the population of the U.S it wastes throws out twice the amount of food the U.S does.


Actions

Information

2 responses

4 06 2009
jasmine tea

I always felt awful about all the homeless people I saw while living in Tokyo, but on the flip side there were a number of places and ways to help them out, as well. The Missionaries of Charity should still have a place in Nishiarai. When I was there they prepared onigiri and other food items to bring to the park in Ikebukuro, on Fridays, and on Saturdays they did lunch and songs with old folks living alone. They probably still do!

10 06 2009
Anthony OPL

Thank you for posting this! I wish there were more I could do from here in tiny, tiny Kofu but I will do what I can when I visit Tokyo.

Leave a Reply

