Worshippers see famous Buddha statue shown once every six years

6 04 2009

NAGANO — A number of worshipers flocked to Zenko-ji temple here on Sunday as a replica of the temple’s principle Buddha statue went on display for the first time since 2003.

The “Maedachi Honzon,” a replica of the temple’s concealed Amitabha Tathagata statue, is shown to the public only once every six calendar years. The display is called “Gokaicho.”

When I read the headline I though oh ok they show the original statue every six years but no that’s not the case, its only a replica!  I wonder how often, if ever, the original is shown?  And if its not shown why not?  There are plenty of priceless artworks and artifacts on display around the world, even religious ones, so I don’t think its ridiculous to suggest they show the original sometimes.

As the temple’s chief priest opened the doors of the altar at 6:30 a.m. on Sunday, the gold replica was visible and captivated visitors from across the country.

Wow 6:30 am on a Sunday.  This adds to my hypothesis that no matter which religion they are Japanese people like their services early.

Touching a 10-meter-high pillar set up in front of the main hall, which is tied with a piece of gold string to the right middle finger of the replica, is believed to bring as much good fortune as directly touching the replica itself.

article here

I can understand that they don’t want people directly touching the gold replica however that’s quite the set up they have to indirectly touch it.  I do commend these people though for their devotion, getting up so early, waiting, and going through lots of trouble to touch a pillar that’s connected to a replica of an important  statue.  It also helps  me to appreciate the closeness of my faith.  I can see original masterpieces and important artifacts.  I can go to a church at any time and sit in the presence of Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament and pray, and during Mass I can even receive Him in the Eucharist.  That kind of thing is available to me everyday  if I just go to church yet how many times in the past have I taken it for granted when I should appreciate that I don’t have to wait many years in between.

Here is the wikipedia page on the temple.


Actions

Information

3 responses

10 04 2009
nisha

You have a very good point. It’s something everyone struggles with, to not take Jesus for granted. Its very hard too ne, because we have it so convient at times, we forget that other places in the world have to struggle to believe in Him and take part in His services.

Have a blessed Good Friday, hun.

11 04 2009
noradlf

Yesterday, Good Friday, I have realized for the first time that we catholics can see and touch Our God both in sacraments (maxime Eucharist and Penance) and in people that believe in Him (from Pope to the last arrived). He himself chose this way to be our companion. That really is a wonder. And we do often take it for granted and are not at all grateful.
I am happy I have people that remind this to me.
Buona Pasqua.
Umberta

14 04 2009
vee8

Happy Easter to you too! It is nice to be reminded of some of the amazing mysteries of the faith.

Leave a Reply

