Young Catholics Increasingly Conservative

27 03 2009

Well I could have said that but the publication Our Sunday Visitor has an article saying it anyway.

Catholic young people seek to usher in era of faithfulness and activism

Raised in a culture of moral relativism and individuality, today’s young Catholic generation is turning toward the faith in search of truth, purpose and a sense of belonging.

I think the part about seeking truth is the most important.  There is so much relativism out there I think people are getting sick of it and saying there are truths I must find them.

Unlike their parents’ generation, studies have shown that Catholics in their late teens to mid-20s are embracing more conservative values and a greater interest in the traditional aspects of their Church.

Definitely thats me!

“Those young adults who are grounded in their faith generally are more morally and socially conservative than their peers and, frequently, than their own parents,” said Colleen Carroll Campbell…

Yes I guess compared to my friends, siblings,  and others my age I am quite conservative, however, my parents and I are in agreement with the Catholic Church on thorny social issues so there`s no disagreement there.

Here is the rest of the article.

I just came across this article which I think ties in nicely with the previous article.

Thirty-year-old Mother Superior leads Australian ‘John Paul II sisters’

.- After experiencing a deep conversion, a former lawyer who had a good job and “partied a lot” is now Mother Superior of a new religious order of “John Paul II sisters” in Australia.

With two other sisters, the 30-year-old Sister Bernadette founded the Missionaries of the Gospel (MGs) in June 2007 in hopes of helping men and women “encounter Christ and live the Gospel,” their website says.

According to the West Australian, the sisters chose to wear a traditional habit and to take new names when they made their vows.

Interesting how the young nuns like an actual habit, and the orders that wear such habits have the most new vocations.  Meanwhile the now elderly nuns who tossed out their habits have very few if any new vocations in their orders.  By their fruits you will know them I guess.


Actions

Information

6 responses

30 03 2009
Benedict

I’m actually one of these young people. Although there had been times when I behaved more or less like a petulant child, I have been compelled to return to the Church.

I really do not like, though, is this pandering to my age group. I like the Church like a grandparent. I love her wisdom, her age, her gentleness. I have learned to love her strictness too, because I now know there is a reason for her rules. It is so that we would not stray into evils of addiction, entitlement, and vainglorious charity.

To see something like priests celebrating so-called “Clown Masses” or anything that changes the Church for the sake of modernity is like seeing a grandparent behave in an undignified manner. I hate to imagine my grandmother dress obscenely, and I will have none of this “modernization” occur in the Church. From St. Peter to the Parousia, I expect faithfulness and solemnity.

I am certain that there are more young people who agree with me.

31 03 2009
Gobbler

I’m 23 and I agree with you. And I am currently in a Theology masters program and there are many (if not most) who are also conservative.

1 04 2009
jasmine tea

I agree!

I know that young Catholics in the US are increasingly on fire for the Church with all her glorious traditions and teaching and liturgy. I wonder if that’s on the horizon for young Catholics in Japan as well…? There aren’t any at the tiny little church I go to, so I can’t say.

By the way, here’s a fun channel to visit: http://www.youtube.com/youngcatholic

5 04 2009
Diego

‘To see something like priests celebrating so-called “Clown Masses” or anything that changes the Church for the sake of modernity is like seeing a grandparent behave in an undignified manner. I hate to imagine my grandmother dress obscenely, and I will have none of this “modernization” occur in the Church. From St. Peter to the Parousia, I expect faithfulness and solemnity.’

Well said!

P.S.: This comes from a Catholic in his twenties, also relishing the new springtime in our Church that Pope Benedict XVI – may the Lord grant him a long and glorious reign! – has helped to usher in. Though even a fairly young chap like me might not live to see the destruction of the last few decades completely reversed, I pray that I am at least seeing the true start of the Restoration.

9 04 2009
DJ

Count me in. I would rather use the word, loyal, than conservative, though. I think “conservative” means some kind of agenda. People call me “conservative” for amoung other reasons, because I worship at the Holy Mass EVERY SUNDAY!!! That’s not “conservative”!! That’s just normal, if you take your religion seriously. Viva Christo Rey!!! – DJ from Atlanta, Georgia USA

23 07 2009
Gustave

I agree with everything above and I am praying that the “reform of reform” to be initiated by the pope just don’t delay…! The Church is now in such bad shape that we need to hurry…! Let’s start with the liturgy! The young generation (I’m 32) wants back the church that our grand parents relegated…! God has a great sense of humor..
From Ottawa, ON., Canada

Leave a Reply

