Ex Finance Minister Nakagawa Misbehaved at Vatican Museums.

21 02 2009

Earlier this week a news story broke about the behaviour of the now former finance minister Mr.  Shoichi Nakagawa at a post G7 press conference on Feb 14.  He acted drunk.  His excuse was cold medicine.  There are lots of videos of this press conference on youtube, and it was all over the news here.  Today the 21 it has now come out that after the notorious press conference  Mr.  Nakagawa had a pre-arranged visit to the Vatican museums.  There were other officials and a  museum guide accompanying him.  The news says that he touched objects that aren’t supposed to be touched, opened a door that wasn’t supposed to be opened thus setting off an alarm, climbing over the barrier around the famous 2000 year old statue of Laocoon and His Sons and then sitting beside it.  Here is an article about his behavior however what I have stated is what is being reported in Japanese.

What do I think?  I think he was drunk and that he needs Alcoholics Anonymous!  Other reports article here have surfaced this week of drunken behavior in the past by Mr. Nakagawa so this is not the first time.   I hope that this will cause him to get help.  Politics aside its too bad for him that he acted like an idiot at the Vatican Museums.  I have been there and they are incredible.   Mr Nakagawa however was so drunk though he couldn’t even begin to appreciate all the wonders around him.  I have said a prayer for him that he will get help and I hope others will say a prayer for him as well.


Actions

Information

8 responses

21 02 2009
Erik

😦

That is quite worrisome. I hope that he soon deals with whatever is causing him to drink so profusely.

24 02 2009
Sue

That is very sad. I will say a prayer too.

I am in Japan too, and just found your blog while searching for the Pater Noster so that my kids could hear the proper pronunciation (we are memorizing it for our Latin studies). Your blog is very interesting, as I have never actually met any practicing Catholics in Japan, but have lots of bloggy Catholic friends, and Cathoic friends back in the US (I am a Protestant Christian). I will be back to read more later after our homeschooling is finished!

25 02 2009
vee8

Hello! I took a peek at your blog and your bagels look delicious. I might just have to try to make them myself someday meaning when my frozen Costco ones run out and I get a bagel jones😀
There are a few Catholics here with the Japanese ones really into being early birds so you`ll find them packed into church on Sunday at 7 & 9am! So Ive actually been wondering what are the most popular church going times for Protestants here?

25 02 2009
Sue

Yes, do try the bagels some day!

I see, the early worship times must explain why I don’t see the Catholic worshipers on Sunday morning. There is a Catholic kindergarten not far from our house, attached to a church. We pass near by (can’t actually see the church from the road) on Sunday morning on the way to our church, but I never see people that look like they are heading in that direction to attend mass. I do see nuns waiting at the bus stop or riding bicycles once in a while on week days. Like most protestant churches around here our sunday school starts at 9:30, and worship at 10:30.

I have a question for you. The protestant churches I have attended here are woefully silent on the pro-life issue (not unlike most protestant churches in the US). We have been attending the same church for almost 12 years, and I can remember only one time that we had someone from a pro-life group come to speak. I don’t recall ever hearing anything from the pulpit. How does my experience compare with yours in the Japanese Catholic church?

28 02 2009
jasmine tea

Hi Sue!

I’ve been to (Catholic) churches in Tokyo and Saitama (about one year), and now Ehime Prefecture (about six months), but I’ve never heard the pro-life issue raised there.

Not to justify the silence, but one reason might be that with some exceptions in Tokyo and next to none in Ehime, the majority of the congregations in those churches are elderly.

I went back to Tokyo for a conference last fall, and found myself explaining to some Japanese Catholics at the Missionaries of Charity house that I had major problems with Obama’s pro-abortion platform. They didn’t seem very keen on discussing the issue further, though.

In the US, “abortion rights” and “reproductive rights” have been loudly claimed and fought over since at least the 1960s, but I don’t think Japan had an equivalent tumult over abortion and its legality. It’s just an idea, but perhaps like the ancient practice of rural infanticide, abortion has a sense of secrecy and shame attached to it that makes discussing it at any level almost impossible.

1 03 2009
noradlf

That is sad.
I like your way of dealing with people, praying for them.
I will pray, too, for Mr Nakagawa and for Japan, because I think this time of crisis is harder there than here in Italy.
A peaceful Lent,
Umberta

2 03 2009
vee8

Thanks Umberta. I only started to understand praying for other people a couple of years ago but I think it really works. It was hard for me at first to pray for people who I thought were disgusting, annoying etc but then one day I realized maybe thats why I noticed them because God wants me to pray for them. So now I try to pray for others even when I think they are hopeless.

5 10 2009
Ex Finance Minster Found Dead « Catholic in Japan

[…] touching some of the art, and for opening an emergency exit door.  My original post on that is here.  I will include intentions  for his soul and for comfort for his wife and children when I say my […]

Leave a Reply

