Dedication of the Lateran Basilica Rome

9 11 2008

As my calendar says today commemorates the dedication of the Lateran Basilica in Rome I thought I would post some photos I took when I was there in May 2008.  For those who dont know the church of St John Lateran is the cathedral of Rome not St Peter`s.   wikipedia article

Yes the exterior looks a bit like St Peter`s.

A Papal throne.

At the end of mass.

The very ornate ceiling.

One of the many side chapels.

Sorry for the poor photo quality however it does give a sense of the church`s size.

A 5 min video I found.  Neither my photos nor the video do this beautiful church justice.



Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

