Apostle`s Creed in Japanese

17 09 2008

Several months ago a commenter asked if I could post this as he was studying Japanese and this was one of the prayers he requested.  I took so long in posting it because while the photos are from my mass book the creed that is actually said in mass is different, and I wanted to post the proper creed.  Now I have had a very kind offer from a commenter with translation experience and am hoping they may be able to explain the difference.  Also for easier navigation I have added a prayers in Japanese category


Actions

Information

16 responses

18 09 2008
Viator Catholicus

Is the Nicene Creed ever used during Mass?

18 09 2008
DBP

OK, here’s the deal. I’m going from memory since I don’t have my own Japanese Mass guide in front of me, but as I remember it the creed you posted is the “baptism-style” creed (so noted in the guide). It’s apparently valid for use in some situations, as it’s listed in the guide, but it’s the third (after the Nicene and Apostles’, in that order). I’ve never heard it actually used in a Mass.

The Japanese text of the other two are listed on the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Japan (CBCJ) website: Nicene Creed and Apostle’s Creed. Of these two, I’ve only heard the Nicene said maybe once or twice, or perhaps at certain parishes that I only visited rarely. Mostly, you’ll hear the Apostles’ Creed instead.

I’ll transliterate the Creeds below (note: I’m not an expert at the different styles of romanization– ‘ou’ is ‘long o’ and ‘ei’ is ‘long e’ I’ll do my best to make it clear, though). I’ll also put in some English hints.

Nicene Creed
Watashi wa shinjimasu. Yuiitsu no kami, zennou no chichi,
ten to chi, mieru mono, mienai mono,
subete no mono no tsukurinushi o. [“…of all that is seen and unseen.”]

Watashi wa shinjimasu. Yuiitsu no Shu Iesu Kirisuto o.
Shu wa kami no hitorigo, subete ni sakidatte Chichi yori umare,
kami yori kami, hikari yori hikari,
makoto no kami yori makoto no kami,
tukurareru koto naku umare,
Chichi to ittai. [“… one in being with the Father.”]

Shu wa, watashi-tachi jinrui no tame,
watashi-tachi no sukui no tame ni ten kara kudari,
Seirei ni yotte, Otome Maria yori karada o uke,
hito to nararemashita. [“… and became man.”]
Pontio Pilato no moto de, watashi-tachi no tame ni
juujika ni tsukerare, kurushimi o uke, houmurare,
seisho ni aru toori mikka-me ni fukkatsu shi, ten ni nobori,
Chichi no migi no za ni tsuite oraremasu. [“… at the right hand of the Father.”]
Shu wa, seisha to shisha o sabaku tame ni
eikou no uchi ni futatabi koraremasu.
Sono kuni wa owaru koto ga arimasen. [“… will have no end.”]

Watashi wa shinjimasu. Shu de ari,
inochi no ataenushi de aru Seirei o.
Seirei wa, Chichi to Ko kara dete,
Chichi to Ko to tomo ni reihai sare, eikou o uke,
mata yogensha o tooshite katararemashita. [“… through the prophets.”]

Watashi wa, sei naru, fuhen no, shitoteki, yuiitsu no kyoukai o shinjimasu.
Tsumi no yurushi o motarasu yuiitsu no senrei o mitome,
shisha no fukkatsu to raise[i] no inochi o mochi-nozomimasu. Amen.

Apostles’ Creed
Tenchi no souzoushu, zennou no Chichi de aru kami o shinjimasu.
Chichi no hitorigo, watashi-tachi no Shu
Iesu Kirisuto o shinjimasu. [“… his only Son, our Lord.”]
Shu wa seirei ni yotte yadori,
Otome Maria kara umare,
Pontio Pilato no moto de kurushimi o uke,
juujika ni tsukerarete shini, houmurare, [“… and was buried.”]
yomi ni kudari, mikka-me ni shisha no uchi kara fukkatsu shi,
ten ni nobotte, [“… ascended into heaven”]
zennou no Chichi de aru kami no migi no za ni tsuki,
seisha to shisha o sabaku tame ni koraremasu. [“… living and the dead.”]

Seirei o shinji, [Holy Spirit]
sei naru fuhen no kyoukai, [Church]
seito no majiwari, [saints]
tsumi no yurushi, [forgiveness of sins]
karada no fukkatsu, [resurrection]
eien no inochi o shinjimasu. [life everlasting]
Amen.

I hope this helps. It’s formatted slightly differently than on the CBCJ pages, but hopefully if you know a little Japanese you can match up the transliteration with the appropriate passages in the originals.

There are some interesting points about the Japanese translations. They chose “hitorigo” (literally, “only child”) without indicating specifically the masculinity of Sonship. The genderlessness of the Japanese language provokes this, but I can’t help but wonder whether retranslations will be necessary in the future. (I feel the same way, especially, about the Hail Mary, which seems practically negligent… but this comment is already too long. I’ll stop here.)

18 09 2008
DBP

Couple typos:

1) Inconsistent capitalization. Of course, there is no equivalent to capitalization in Japanese, but I sorta kinda capitalized Chichi (Father) Ko (child, used for Son), Seirei (Holy Spirit), Shu (Lord), Otome Maria (Virgin Mary), Iesu Kirisuto (Jesus Christ), Pontio Pilato (Pontius Pilate). I missed at least one Chichi though, and if I went to the trouble of all that may as well have capitalized Kami (God).

2) At least once, I typed “tu” instead of “tsu”. They’re the same– “tu is pronounced as “tsu” and it’s a convenient shorthand when typing in Japanese characters. So anyway, yeah. It should be “tsukurareru koto naku umare” in the Nicene creed.

3) “Mochi-nozomimasu” should, of course, be “machi-nozomimasu.” We are “waiting and hoping” not “holding and hoping.”

Sorry! I didn’t notice any other mistakes, but I may have missed something. Anyway, it should get you close enough to read along.

19 09 2008
Marco

Thanks for your kindness and for posting the Creed. Some time ago, through google, I found this:
Shitoshinjou
Tenchi no souzoushu, zennou no Chichi de aru Kami wo shinjimasu.
Chichi no hitorigo, watashitachi no Shu, Iesu Kiristo wo shinjimasu.
Shu wa SeiRei ni yotte yadori, otome Maria kara umare,
Poncio Pilato no moto de kurushimi wo uke, juujika ni tsukerarete shini,
houmurare, yomi ni kudari, mikkame ni shisha no uchi kara Fukkatsu shi,
ten ni nobotte, zennou no Chichi de aru Kami no migi no za ni tsuki,
seisha to shisha wo sabaku tame ni koraremasu
SeiRei wo shinji, seinaru fuhen no kyoukai, seito no majiwari,
tsumi no yurushi, karada no fukkatsu, eien no inochi wo Shinjimasu. Amen.
Unfortunately I don’t remember the address of the page. Is the Creed that you say at the mass? Bye😉

Marco

P.S.: I’m still searching for the Salve Regina (元后あわれみの母) and Fatima prayer (ファティマの祈り) but is very very hard to find the catholic prayers in romaji (or in kana).

19 09 2008
DBP

Um, I should note that my comment currently visible above was a followup to a longer one which I posted but which is in Moderation Mode. That post, when it’s approved, will give both the Apostles’ and Nicene creeds, as well as a little more information about creeds in Mass.

I can probably romanize both those prayers for you, Marco, when I get a chance.

19 09 2008
DBP

OK, transliterating what’s available here.

Fatima Prayer
Aa Iesu yo,
Warera no tsumi o yurushi-tamae.
Warera o jigoku no hi yori mamori-tamae.
Mata, subete no reikon,
koto ni Shu no o-awaremi o mottomo hitsuyou to suru reikon o
tengoku ni michibiki-tamae.

19 09 2008
DBP

Salve Regina
Genkou, awaremi no haha, warera no inochi, yorokobi, kibou.
Tabiji kara anata ni sakebu Eba no ko, nagekinagara,
nakinagaramo, namida no tani ni anata o shitau.
Warera no tame ni torinasu kata, awaremi no me o warera ni sosogi,
toutoi anata no ko Iezusu o, tabiji no hate ni shimeshite kudasai.
Oo, itsukushimi, megumi afureru yorokobi no Otome Maria.

(Sorry for serial posting. I didn’t think I’d have time to get to it this quickly, and I broke them up to [hopefully] avoid triggering moderation mode.)

22 09 2008
Marco

DBP, Thank you very much for your kindness. I found another version of the Fatima prayer:
主イエスキリスト、
わたしたちの罪をゆるしてください。
わたしたちを滅びから救い、
すべての人々、
ことにおんあわれみをもっと必要としている
人々を天国に導いてください。
アメン。
What do you think about the version above? Can you romanize it(人々=hitobito or ninnin? I don’t know) please? Bye.

Marco

22 09 2008
DBP

Marco,

I don’t know the source of either Japanese translation, and I don’t know whether there’s a “standard” one that the CBCJ (or some other official group) endorses. I may be able to check my rosary booklet (if I can find it). What I can tell you is that your second version uses more modern language: “Watashi-tachi” instead of “ware-ra,” “kudasai” instead of “-tamae”, etc.

Shu Iesu Kirisuto, watashi-tachi no tsumi o yurushite kudasai.
Watashi-tachi o horobi kara sukui, subete no hitobito,
koto ni on-awaremi o motto hitsuyou to shite-iru hitobito o
tengoku ni michibiite kudasai. Amen.

(By the way, if this is correct, I may have mistransliterated the prayer above: on-awaremi instead of o-awaremi. You learn something new every day.)

Between the two, I like the first one. It’s more literal: it talks about “fires of hell” (newer version: just “ruin” or “destruction”) and talks about “souls” instead of people. I have a problem with some Japanese translations being too un-literal…. Anyway, hope this helps!

24 09 2008
vee8

Thank you for your translations DBP they are really appreciated! Sorry some posts got hung up Im not sure why as I have it set that once I approve somones post the first time everything else they post should automatically show up. I will have a look at the settings, and thanks once again.

29 09 2009
Sandra Pastrana

Thank You so much for these postings. I had bought a prayer book in a religious book store in the town of Akita. But I could not read the kanji. So I had my Japanese tutor help me. I just found your posts. But I am glad I had my tutor help me because I was able to tell him about our beliefs and thus do a bit of catechism. But I only had him help me with a few. Now I can pray the rosary in Japanese. Please keep posting more prayers.

4 10 2009
Beth Olmo

Hi! I’m wondering if you would tell me where you got your Mass book with the Japanese, romanization, and English all together. We are Americans stationed in Okinawa, and have finally found a bilingual church off base. I keep looking online, but maybe I’m not looking in the right places.

Thanks!
🙂 Beth

4 10 2009
vee8

Hello,
I found it at the church in Kamakura, up near Tokyo, actually. I was there sightseeing and decided to go to mass too. I had some time to spare before mass started so I was looking around the religious goods shop just inside the entrance and found it. This is the publisher`s website with the book on it.
http://www.oriens.or.jp/shyoseki/b016_6kakoku.html
If you know of a religious shop near you just print off that page and show it to them and they should be able to help. If you click here
http://www.oriens.or.jp/english/english.html
you can find an email address at the bottomand they might be able to help you find a copy as well.

4 10 2009
Beth Olmo

Thanks a bunch!🙂

21 10 2009
Jackson

I am also looking for prayer of St. Michael in Japanese.

Saint Michael the Archangel,
defend us in battle.
Be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil.
May God rebuke him, we humbly pray;
and do Thou, O Prince of the Heavenly Host –
by the Divine Power of God –
cast into hell, satan and all the evil spirits,
who roam throughout the world seeking the ruin of souls.

Amen.

26 10 2009
vee8

I was actually thinking recently I should put up more prayers so the St Michael one will be it!

Leave a Reply

