‘Yahweh’ not to be used in liturgy, songs, and prayers, Cardinal Arinze says

3 09 2008

I have been a longtime fan of Cardinal Arinze as he first caught my attention when I was a teen because I heard him say about religion” you can propose but you dare not impose.”  That stayed in my mind and is my motto when dealing with non Catholics.   Anyway on to the letter.

.- The Hebrew name for God is not to be used or pronounced in liturgical celebrations, songs and prayers, Cardinal Francis Arinze, Prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments, has said in a letter addressed to the bishops’ conferences of the world.

Regarding translations in the liturgical context, the letter instructs, “Adonai” is to be translated in English as “Lord” and the Tetragrammaton YHWH is to be translated as “God.”

To fulfill the directive, songs with phrases such as “Yahweh, I know you are near” will need to be modified.

full article here

The last line about getting rid of the song Yahweh,  I know you are near was the first thing that popped into my mind when I read the article because that song stands out to me as a very noticeable use of Yahweh.  I heard/sang the song in church growing up but don’t recall ever hearing it here.  I wont be sad to see it go as I was never a fan of the folk music masses even as a child, however, if they decided to get rid of Holy God we praise thy name Id be upset!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

