Parishioners Read Stories of Martyrs to Prepare for Beatification

9 07 2008

http://www.cbcj.catholic.jp/eng/jcn/jul2008.htm#2

I thought a lot about this part in particular  “Free discussion allowed a simple and straight question such as, “We have to know about the apostatized too. I wonder what their feelings were?”

Whenever there have been martyrs in any country there must have been apostates too and at one time I probably would have lightly dismissed them as being cowards.  Now though I seriously think about being in their position and would I deny my faith or with the strength of the Holy Spirit be able to die for it?  I think it is easier for people in groups to reject the faith together or die for it together because, one way or the other, they have support from those who have made the same decision.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

