Divine Mercy in Rome

29 05 2008

One morning in Rome walking in the area just south west of the Vatican I couldn’t help but notice this church Santo Spirito in Sassia wikipeida article with a huge poster of St. Faustina on it.  Seeing her picture I knew I had to go in.   Click on the photos to enlarge although some don’t for reasons I’m not sure of.

On the right hand side of the aisle there was this popular chapel. It was a special treat for me as someone who has been saying the chaplet for almost one year. After having visited many churches in Paris and Rome on this trip and having looked at many side chapels it was sort of like seeing a good friend in an unexpected place to come across this one. It was a beautiful moment for me to light a candle and pray a litle here. I felt hugged.

On the left side of the church was this chapel with two very familiar faces; Pope John Paul II and Our Lady of Fatima.

Back outside the church looking left.


Actions

Information

4 responses

30 01 2009
Louie

Can you please tell me the name of this church in Rome. I would very much like to visit the altar of the Divine Mercy. Thank you.

30 01 2009
vee8

I will look up the name for you. It is very close to the Vatican so I came across it accidentally but it was a really nice surprise so I hope I can help you find it.

12 02 2009
vee8

I have found the name, and updated the post with it as well. The name is Santo Spirito in Sassia.

19 04 2009
Amy

This is the Church of Santo Spirito in Sassia. It is on the street parallel to Via della Concilazione (the street leading directly up to the St. Peter’s). And today is Divine Mercy Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

