Communion at Massive Mass

17 05 2008

While in Rome on Sunday May 4 there was an outdoor mass in St Peters square which I attended.  This was my first time to attend such a massive mass and due to the midday heat was standing in the colonnade for most of it.  Communion time came and I squeezedinto the main square to receive the Holy Eucharist but wait where is the extraordinary minister?  No announcement was given, no obvious lines existed, and after pushing around in the crowd for about ten minutes I realized I wasn’t going to get it, and it seemed like many others didn’t either.  Very disappointing to say the least.  What kind of mass is it when the properly disposed faithful in a state of grace (including me) cant receive the Eucharist?  I should add that this was not a papal mass but still there’s no excuse.  There is a huge basilica right there why cant we go inside and have mass there instead?  The square is good for non mass events such as the papal audience but what happened at that mass has rather put me off of attending further large outdoor masses like that in the future.

 


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

