September 14

19 09 2007

September 14 has come and gone so now priests can say a Tridentine Mass without permission from their bishop.  I saw that EWTN celebrated by having such a mass and airing it however I was out and unable to watch it.  I would like to attend one either in Tokyo or where my parents live, next time I visit, but after checking churches and even the diocese websites of those places I have found no mention of Latin mass times.  My local parish I attend has also made no mention of such a mass as of yet.  I will have to mention it to the priest next Sunday.  When I mentioned it to my Mom I was surprised that she didn’t sound very excited about a Latin mass.  I read a comment from her local bishop that most people asking about a Latin mass are young people which I completely understand as I am one of them.  The bishop however didn’t sound very enthusiastic about a latin mass in his comments which is sad.  I am guessing that it will be my generation who will embrace and attend a Latin mass not simply the elderly that many of my parents generation expect.

I have an earlier post about why I am interested in a Latin mass but to quickly sum it up.  I saw my first Latin mass on you tube, a mass from a couple of years ago in Paris.  I was awestruck and thought to myself now THAT is a mass.  It was more beautiful and reverent than any mass I had ever seen.  It was about God not about entertaining the parishioners or trying to be trendy.  Plus they used a lot of incense and I have always liked it and wished it was used at every mass, not simply at Christmas and Easter.


Actions

Information

One response

24 09 2007
Dr. Ransom

So far as I know, the only priests saying the Tridentine Latin Mass in Japan are part of the Society of St. Pius X, whose Japanese wing is based in either Tokyo or Osaka. I don’t know the extent to which you’re aware of the SSPX; they’re basically a schismatic group of traditionalist Catholics who claim to be faithful to the Pope yet somehow deny that Vatican II was a legitimate ecumenical council and conveniently ignore the fact that their bishops were excommunicated back in the late 1980’s, a status that has yet to be lifted. Don’t go anywhere near those folks.

That being said, the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite is indeed beautiful. I live in a Berkeley, California, and most of the resident Catholics here have a more than slightly liberal bent, theologically speaking; I don’t think any of the local parishes will be saying Mass according to the Missal of Bl. John XXIII anytime soon. There is, however, a parish in nearby Oakland with a priest from the Institute of Christ the King, Sovereign Priest, in residence. He celebrates the traditional Mass every day, with High Masses on Sundays, feast days, and First Fridays. It’s been a blessing for me, and I hope that your priest is receptive to the idea of offering it as well.

What’s the liturgical situation like in Japan, anyway? We’re starting to recover here in America, but things are still pretty bad in spots, with terrible music and liturgical dance and so forth cropping up from time to time (in some dioceses much more than in others, from what I’m told). I have my own thoughts about the relative merits of the Novus Ordo Missae and the older form, but I know that the NO can be said reverentially; I’ve seen it happen, both here in America and in Italy, where I vacationed recently.

I wonder, though, how receptive the average Japanese Catholic would be to a Mass in Latin—this includes the parishioners as well as the priests. I know that Christianity is still considered to be a foreign faith in Japan; having Mass in the vernacular may be seen (by most bishops and priests, at least) as being less alien and more inviting than the TLM. Of course, there are also a lot of Catholic ex-pats in Japan, yourself included, who come from Poland and the Philippines and elsewhere and probably wouldn’t mind a Latin Mass at all. You’d be in a better position to say something about all of this stuff, though.

By the way, I’m the same person who commented on the Credo video you posted awhile back. I tweaked my WordPress profile and gave myself a nickname, which is why I’m being listed under a different moniker. In any event, thanks again for keeping this blog—I continue to follow it with interest. Take care!

Matt

Leave a Reply

