Credo in Unum Deum

31 07 2007

I came across this video on you tube and it’s probably my favorite chant.  Not that I listen to that many but of the ones I have heard I really like it. Here in Japan I can hear from time to time a Buddhist monk or monks chanting on a tv show (in particular if it is a funeral scene) or very rarely if they happen to be doing so while Im sightseeing at a temple.  The Buddhist chanting is ok but it doesn’t grab me the way Gregorian chant does and in particular Credo in Unum Deum.  Listening to it is my spa treatment for the soul since I dont go to real spas.

For the history of the chant and the words see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Credo


Actions

Information

2 responses

31 07 2007
matth1029

First of all, thanks for posting this chant. I’ve heard the basic musical form before, but this is an especially beautiful rendition.

Secondly, I’d like to thank you for starting this blog. I’m a recent convert, having joined the Church this past Easter. I’ve also been fascinated with Japan for most of my life, and I’m actually planning to teach English there next year (with JET or some similar program). In considering what it would be like to live in Japan, I’ve pondered some of the very same concerns you’ve listed, such as what to do if I’m expected, because of cultural norms, to do something that runs afoul of my faith.

So, naturally, stumbling across your blog was a happy surprise for me: here’s a fellow Catholic who’s taking one for the team.🙂

This, of course, leads me to a question: what brings you to Japan? Also—and maybe you’ve mentioned this and I failed to notice it—where are you from? (I’m an American, a native Californian.)

In any case, thanks, and I look forward to reading what you have to say in the future. Dominus tecum.

Matt

15 08 2007
vee8

Hello,
Posting the video was no problem, thank the person on you tube who made it. Glad you could join us in the Catholic church because for better or worse I like it. Also glad you like my blog. I tried to find something like what I have here and there was nothing, no one who had a blog on this subjet. There are tons of blogs about Japan a lot of them focusing on crazy wacky weird Japan, or people’s experience teaching here which is ok but no one ever mentions church. Their faith, if they had one, is never mentioned either, so Im happy to take one for the team and fill this niche.

Im from an allied country, so for privacy I will stick with that for now. Im a naitve Catholic though and I have been to San Francisco. What brought me to Japan probably the usual reasons money, travel, adventure all that good stuff. Good luck with the JET program try bigdaikon.com for info on being a JET.

Leave a Reply

